Morabaraba is the african version of Nine Man Morris. it is played by two players who take turns. The players start with nine different coloured pieces each.

There are 3 phases to the game.
Phase 1
Players take turns placing their pieces. If a player is able to form a row of three pieces along one of the board's lines, he/she has a "mill" and may remove one of his opponent's pieces from the board; removed pieces may not be placed again. Players must remove any other pieces first before removing a piece from a formed mill. In the opening, it is possible to form two mills by placing a single piece. The player still gets to take only one of the opponent's pieces.

At the beginning of the game, it is more important to place pieces in versatile locations rather than to try to form mills immediately and make the mistake of concentrating one's pieces in one area of the board.

Phase 2
Once all eighteen pieces have been placed, players now move their pieces. A piece can be moved from one circle to another along the lines. Pieces can never be placed or moved to a slot that is already occupied.

Whenever a player forms a mill (three in a row), they can take any opponent's piece that doesn't belong to a mill. If all of the opponent's pieces are inside some mill then an exception is made and the player can take any piece.

The game is won by bringing the opponent to a position where they cannot move, or by reducing them to only two pieces.

Phase 3
Once a player is reduced to three pieces, his pieces may "fly", "hop" or "jump" to any empty intersections, not only adjacent ones.

© 2014Just 2 Easy Ltd, Lexicon Learning and Martin Longley
May be used for educational and non-profit making purposes
Start Again